Blueberry “Porridge”

As a lot of others are doing, I’m experimenting with my food intake, going the no nuts route. But I needed something like my noatmeal for fast morning breakfast, and I really wanted something with blueberries. So I came up with this, Im in love with it. Even though it looks like a bunch of smurfs died in a bowl…

Servings: 1

Prep Time 2 minutes

Cook Time 4 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 cup blueberries, separated in two 1/2cups.
  • 2 large spoonfuls pumpkin puree( if you like the taste of pumpkin add more, if you don’t, keep it at 2, you cant taste it, its there for mostly texture)
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4cup Coconut Milk ( or almond milk)

Steps

  1. Place Pumpkin Puree and 1/2 cup Blueberries and seasonings in a food processor or blender and blend until the blueberries have broken down and it made a nice little pumpkin blueberry mash.
  2. Put the three eggs and coconut milk in the blender and pulse a few times until frothy.
  3. Place the egg/milk mixture in a microwave safe bowl. Add Pumpkin/Blueberry puree Stir until everything is mixed well.
  4. Microwave for 4 minutes , try to check on it frequently  and stir to make sure you get the consistency you want, you can cook it longer if you like it more thick or less if you like it runny.
  5. Top it off with the other 1/2 cup of your blueberries! Or as you see in my photo, goji berries.

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, On the go and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blueberry “Porridge”

  1. I do the grain free, nut free route and it is difficult sometimes. But, thankfully, there is always coconut flour and shredded coconut! This is a really inventive idea. I might give it a try, and prepare it on the stovetop instead of the microwave.

    • jkmeyer515 says:

      Let me know how it is on the stovetop! I’m always in a hurry in the morning before work but Im thinking it might even make a good dessert then I will do the stovetop way!

    • Alyssa says:

      I’d also love to know how it is on the stovetop! I try to minimize my nut consumption and coconut doesn’t work for me (except for milk and oil), so this could be a good change from the usual smoothie or eggs!

  2. Oh my … yum! I can’t wait to try this.

  3. Lindsey says:

    looks SO SO SO SO gooood

  4. Primal Smoke says:

    Whatevs…the best food sometimes looks the ugliest. I miss oatmeal sometimes, I might have to try this with some large coconut flakes for texture

  5. Megan says:

    That looks awesome!!

  6. dennis1798 says:

    This sounds really good!

Leave a Reply

